The scholarship is aimed at students studying in the disciplines that benefit both Waikato-Tainui and the NZ Transport Agency. Examples include, but are not limited to: planning, engineering, surveying, environmental sciences, ecology and archaeology.

To apply for a Tertiary Education Grant and/or Scholarship, you must be a registered tribal member, residing in NZ and studying at a NZ Tertiary Institution to be eligible.

Four annual scholarships of $4,000.00 each are available to registered tribal members of Waikato-Tainui.


Selection criteria for the scholarship will include:
  1. Academic achievement
  2. Contribution or intended contribution to your Waikato-Tainui Marae
  3. Community Spirit
  4. Cultural Awareness and connection to the Hamilton Section area; and
  5. Motivation to study

Expressions of Interest (2 pages max) for the 2018 Scholarship are due on 31 July 2018. Expressions of Interest should outline why you would be a suitable candidate for the scholarship and how you satisfy the above criteria. The 2018 enrolments have now closed.

All Expressions of Interest will be evaluated by NZTA staff and interviews may be required. Decision of the scholarship awards is expected by late September 2018.

The 2018 enrolments have now closed.

Call 0800 824 684 to find out when the next application period will be for 2019.

Contact us